Some Rants and Some Thoughts

Argh. WHY in the morning, after showering, putting on clean clothes and some perfume, do I have to walk out of Fenchurch Street station and be welcomed to London with the stench of cigarette smoke?! I love the don’t smoke in public places law, but there should be another, don’t smoke right outside of entrances law! I walk down the street to work and there are just people, puffing their smokey cancer IN MY FACE! Go awaaaay! Just because you smoke, I don’t want to smell like it for the rest of the day.

And tonight, our shower isn’t working. It’s my fault because I didn’t pay the bill, but it’s my phone’s fault for running out of battery before paying the bill; however, I don’t think that would affect the fact that my boiler’s just decided to stop running hot water, considering this happened not 2 weeks ago.

End of rants. Start of thoughts.

On the train on the way home, a girl came to sat next to me. Her mp3 player was blasting out “Hero” by Enrique Iglesias, followed by “As Long As You Love Me” by The Backstreet Boys, and she was reading Eclipse by Stephanie Meyer (the third of the Twilight series). There were two things I initially thought about this young woman.

1. You are a walking cliche.
2. You are representing the third of our generation, which is considered romantic, and I’m happy you’re not the third that’s going around, stabbing, shooting and just murdering each other*.

But it got me to thinking about songs at people’s funerals. How? I have no idea. We chose Dad’s song**, which was “Don’t Look Back In Anger” by Oasis. I think this was perfect for him. He used to play it on his guitar all the time. We all used to sing it. His friends know it because we all used to sing it. It was subconsciously lodged in our minds as, at the service, all three of us sat there, miming the words through our tears. But was that what he would have wanted?

Then, my thoughts developed further. What song would I want at my funeral? Well, here’s some I was thinking of…

– “House Of Fun” by Madness. Although I’d like to think of myself as ‘bad ass’ enough to go to hell (if there is indeed a heaven and hell), I’m not. Very funny song, completely inappropriate for funerals, seeing as it’s about a 16 year old boy, buying his first ever condom…

– “Drops of Jupiter” by Train. My favourite ever song. Poetry to music about finding yourself. Would be suitable, if I ever find myself… Whatever that means…

– “From Paris to Berlin” by Infernal. Don’t know why, crept into my head. Would be appropriate if I actually do my Paris to Berlin club tour, but I can’t find anyone to do that with.

– “Burn Baby Burn” by Ash. Wrong if I’m going to be cremated.

– “Club Tropricana” by Wham! Yes, this actually became an option. Again, referring to heaven and hell – “Club Tropricana, drinks are freeeeeeee, fun and sunshine, there’s enough for everyone”… Heaven!

I’m sure I’ll come up with more. But these are my five options so far. Or maybe a mix-tape of all.

*The other third I consider “normal people”, like myself and do not necessarily fit into either categories.
**I promise I’ll stop going on about my Dad soon…

Leave a Reply

