Two Blogs for the Price of One

Written during the world’s longest power cut.

Ok, I exaggerate. This power cut has lasted for half an hour and still counting. I have been texting my Mum, boyfriend, potential client, boyfriend, potential client, Mum – but now my stupid unreliable “smart” phone is out of battery. So I am without communication to the outside world.

AND I had just sent a couple of texts that needed responding. Grrr.

Mum has power and is just around the corner, so has asked me and the boyfriend if we’d like to go out to dinner. I have forwarded this onto boyfriend, but now I’ll never get the reply. And I won’t be able to text Mum to let her know either way. Fab. You. Less.

I’d just got a Facebook message inviting me out next weekend AND possibly another potential new client commented on a status, advertising what I do! So they’re not going to get a reply for a while now! Sozzles, guys.

I hate the dark. There’s nothing I like about it. It scares the shit out of me. It might sound weird, a twenty three year old woman, admitting she’s scared of the dark. I don’t mind it if someone else (who I know!) is here with me. It’s just when I’m on my own, my imagination runs away with itself and I worry immensely about how I’m going to get out alive. I suppose it all stems from living next door to the woods when I was growing up. Eerie crooked trees and dark shadows. Faint rustling of leaves, which was obviously the wind, but when you’re little, it sounds a lot louder than just the wind.

And right now, I’m in a three storey house, all by myself in the dark. I am literally at the top of the second set of stairs, as I write this, away from the front door and what lurks downstairs. Honestly, it’s just as well I keep my Mac charged, because if there was no source of light, I’d be even worse than I am now.

On another note, WHY DO WE NOT HAVE CANDLES IN THE HOUSE? This is not the first time our whole village (near enough) has experienced a fucking power cut. Again, growing up just around the corner, we’d have power cut a week. Ok, maybe not a week. But at the very least 3 times a month. Must buy fucking candles.

Argh. 40 minutes now. Another 5 minutes or so until boyfriend is home. God’s sake, this is so ridiculous. Where the hell are the electricity company and why aren’t they sorting out our electricity?!

This is not how I want to spend my evenings during the week. Sitting at the top of the stairs – quite uncomfortably, actually – in the dark, waiting for the lights to come back on. With no means of communication to the outside world – other than walking outside, but I’m not going to do that in the dark – are you crazy?!

It’s weird to think how much electricity impacts our life actually. I don’t think I could live in the old days with candles and stuff. I need my iPod and my phone (which is useless without charge). I suppose, back then, they didn’t know what they even were. But I needed to put a wash on and wash my blanket and stuff and now that is ruined by the stupid power cut. ARGH. Cannot see me hand-washing my blanket by candlelight. Nope.

Boyfriend must be in his car by now, so won’t be long until he gets home. Thank the Lord. I’ll have actual human contact and his phone (hooray!) so I’ll be able to text my Mum at the very least. Potential clients will have to wait. Night out next week will have to wait – can’t actually go to it anyways, but it’s rude not to reply…

Wow, I’m such a wimp. Stupid power cut, exposing this side of me.

I suppose I can write about how awesome I am at my new job at the moment. Take my mind off things, I guess.

So far, for our February term, which starts the week beginning 14th February, I have enrolled 41 new clients. That’s right, my friends. Forty. One. Our target is 100 new clients, which I think we might do, considering the 14th February is MILES away – well, a month away. And some of my friends have babies, so hopefully, I’ll get them all to join too.

I did make one mistake though. We run photo shoots and a client asked how much it would cost for prints of the photo shoot and I ended up sending them the wrong pricelist – the pricelist we pay our suppliers for the prints. BUT IT WASN’T ENTIRELY MY FAULT. It was my first day ever in the office on my own ever and I was trying to be independent, because both my directors have days off on Mondays. So I searched the machine and that spreadsheet was what came up.

I was being independent and it blew up in my face. Maybe I should keep asking questions for now?

Written post-power cut.

So the power cut lasted for 10 hours. How’d I know? Boyfriend woke up when the lights came back on. The washing machine turned itself on. The whole street celebrated in the street. Only joking. It was at 4am.

Boyfriend and I ate sandwiches, for we couldn’t cook anything. And we watched The Inbetweeners Series 2 on my Mac. I can’t believe how much I depend on electronics. I even read books on my eReader. It’s terrible really.

I’ve just got home from work and I’ve put my wash on (with the all important blanket). Watching Friends. As if I haven’t seen all of them already. Studenthood was all about sitting in the common room and watching Friends on E4.

I’m off to the pub tonight with Mum. And I’m not drinking (as per resolution). Boyfriend and I are going for lunch with some friends tomorrow. We’re going to London to some Mexican place that serves cocktails Hooray! So that will be my first drinking session since Christmas Eve. Dun dun DUUUUUUUUN.

Watch this space. I might be writing a hungover blog on Sunday.

One thought on “Two Blogs for the Price of One

Leave a Reply

