HM Revenue and Customs

Yes, it’s that time again. Time for an epically ranty blog. My first since the move to WordPress!

So here I am, at home, on hold. To HM Revenue and Customs. You see, they wrote to me in December and told me I paid too much tax. I know that there aren’t many people who pay tax nowadays, let alone paying too much, but there we go. And now, I’ve been on hold for twenty minutes, waiting for someone to give it back to me. I wouldn’t mind if it was like, twenty quid. But it is a substantial amount of money! The funniest thing was that they requested this money in the first place. If they did their job properly and worked out the calculations of what I needed to pay, this wouldn’t have happened in the first place.

Now, I understand I am a rare case. I had not one, but two jobs, so this must’ve thrown them. But seriously, the second job was four hours a week on a Saturday. Is it really that difficult? I’m not one to really criticise, I am rubbish with numbers. But don’t fucking tell me that I owe you more money than I do. I have been paying tax into the tax pot since I was 17. And I’ve always been on time (thanks, Dad) and everything.

I doubt there’s anyone actually in the office. Takes the piss!

It’s ok, the Liverpudlian took my call and he’s posting my cheque. Happy. Days.

Leave a Reply

