Mediocrity or Individuality?

I read my friend’s blog the other day with the focus on mediocrity and, as I was bored, travelling to Plymouth, it got me thinking about it too.

To be honest, I don’t think I believe in mediocrity at a term. I think you can’t judge other people against each other. Everyone’s different, everyone has their pros and their not so pros. At school, whenever I did a test or whatever, Dad would always ask the same two questions to review how I’d done. “What was the top mark?” and “How many people got the top mark?” – I would ultimately get a bollocking for getting an average mark. But why?

There are something like 6 billion people on the planet. Someone will always be better than you and someone will always be worse than you. That’s just life, I guess. So why don’t we apply this to skills or tests or whatever?
I know I’m not a scientist. In fact I was in the bottom groups for sciences at school, but I was quite good at Spanish – well, until AS level where it just got ridiculous! I like to think I’m good at blogging, and I think the site stats speak for themselves in that sense, but there is always going to be part of me that wants to do it better and aspire to be a frickin’ accredited worldwide millions of views a day blogger.

I don’t consider myself mediocre. I’m proud of what I’ve accomplished in my 24 years and I can’t compare to anyone else. I hate the labels that we seem to give each other. Is there such a thing as average? Average weight, average height… it doesn’t matter, it’s still you. I think as long as you can accept yourself, then you shouldn’t worry about coming out on top.

Another example is perhaps at the memorial dinner, discussing with Dad’s colleagues what I do for a living. They all very well know that I went to university and spent all that time away, studying, but I bet half of them thought, “why is she just a swimming teacher now?” Well, guys, the joke is probably on you because I get twice as much sleep than you do, I actually LOVE my job and I’m happy.

We shouldn’t care what people think but I know its easier said than done. Maybe I should do a new half a year’s resolution to not care so much about what people think. But then again, I am only human. I’ll step off my soapbox now… 🙂

Leave a Reply

