An Epiphany

Oh my goodness, I feel rough this morning. Went out to the pub last night. I haven’t drank in ages, but for some reason, last night was a good night to pick it back up again. A Thursday. What the hell was I thinking?! I probably shouldn’t have driven to work today…

I staggered home, after walking Mum halfway to her house and Jay wasn’t home yet, so I called him to find out where he was and what was going on (I can’t remember much of the conversation…), turned on the heating (I fell over Jay’s bikes and I have bruises everywhere, so I think I fell flat on my face…) and I got on the phone to Immy for a drunken rant. Immy seems to be my friend of drunken choice when I am drunk and want to rant. Also, because he doesn’t drink and we lived together when I was a student, he knows how to deal with me when I’m drunk, which usually involves agreeing with everything I say.

I had a massive drunken epiphany last night and it all boils down to Ed Sheeran’s ‘You Need Me, I Don’t Need You’. Heard it? It’s such a clever song, I absolutely love the rhythm he makes with the words he chooses to sing/rap. This song is stuck in my head nearly every single day at the moment. I absolutely love the video for it as well and if you haven’t seen it, it’s below. 

I wish I knew sign language.

Anyway! Love the song, blah blah. I know what he sings about is generally the music industry but I figured that this applies in everyday life as well. Bear with me.

Although a sociologist can class people in many different groups, I think my favourite roles to put people into are the Listener and the Talker. The Listener is usually the more common group, the one in a conversation who listens whilst the Talker talks at them. Don’t get me wrong, if there’s a crisis, the Listener will become a Talker, but not to the extent that a Talker does, and more than likely, the Talker will revert the conversation back to themselves. I most definitely am a Listener as I don’t talk at people and I listen to crises rather than think everyday is chaos and everything is wrong with the world. I’ll expand.

More often than not, the Talker has ‘dramas’  (or what they perceive to be) in their everyday life. That is not to say that the Listener does not have these perceived dramas, but the Talker seems to have a focus upon these negative dramas and that is usually what they end up talking about at the Listener. The Talker is generally quite negative, the Listener is neutral.

Although the bad week last week, I am generally a pretty positive person. Even during my bad week last week, I was still in an alright mood after my moan to Jay or my Mum. My Nan says that I see the good in everyone and everything. I have my own mind and I make that mind up. Unless you’ve been dealt a really shit hand, which I don’t think many of my friends have, there are more positives than negatives in our life. So stop moaning about little things that go wrong as in the grand scheme of things, it does not really matter. I am completely and utterly sick of people bringing down my positivity. And this isn’ t about Twitter or Facebook, because God, do I love a good rant on Twitter and Facebook; this is about real life situations and conversations with constant moaning. If you don’t like it, do something to change it. I think as I’m growing up, I’m getting more level-headed like my Dad and learning not to take people’s crap when I’m feeling good about life. Which is generally all the time.

And I even posted on my Facebook (drunkenly) last night

You need me, man, I don’t need you. Ed, truer words have never been said. No more dramas, life is far too short. Only happy people in my life from now on. Positive outweighs the negative ♥ KB

Has anyone else experienced this or am I out here on my own?

On another note, a local in the pub implied I was an alcoholic for having the occasional drink at home. When I say ‘occasional’, I mean once in a blue moon because it’s cheaper and relaxing after a stressful week. That does sound a bit like an alcoholic thing to say… But how rude! I hardly ever drink in the pub either; I’m usually the one watching everyone else get drunk! By his logic, I was definitely an alcoholic at university… I don’t think there was a time I ever didn’t drink at home when I was at uni… Maybe I need an epiphany about my drinking… Time for a sausage sandwich to get rid of this hangover!!

Leave a Reply

