Breaking Dawn: Part 1

Last night, Mum and I went to see the latest in the Twilight series, Breaking Dawn Part 1. I was a little apprehensive about seeing this film; I found the other films extremely mushy and not really what I had portrayed in the book. I mean, I know it’s a teen-love story, but the moody faces just did not seem to cut it with me. In the books, Bella is portrayed as a smart, thoughtful young lady and I felt that Kristen Stewart did not show this properly in her performances and she came across rather moody – I don’t think I would be so moody if I was stuck in the middle of an Edward/Jacob sandwich! That aside, I thought I should continue with the films as I had started with them now and, much like the Harry Potter films, I wanted to see what bits they had missed out and what they had done well.

If you haven’t read the book and don’t want it to be spoiled, I would most definitely stop reading here, as a lot of my comparisons are to do with what I have previously read. But I’m sure you guys already know there’s a wedding and honeymoon – and if you haven’t guessed what happens by the adverts that are on your televisions… well, I don’t know what to say – I won’t give too much away though…

It seems in fashion to split stories-made-into-films in half right now, but as I walked in, I wondered what part they would stop at. I guessed, and I was completely wrong. Ten seconds in and Jacob had his shirt off. I know the boy is like, 19 but that does not offend the eyes!

It took an hour for the wedding and honeymoon scenes which, as I glanced at my glow-in-the-dark watch, I thought was too long. But it’s a teen movie and they love all that mushy luvvy-duvvy stuff, I guess. I did love the wedding – I thought the dress was a bit overstated for ‘book Bella’, as she would’ve gone for something a lot simpler – and the honeymoon was completely line-for-line as in the book, even throwing in a chess set as per the book’s cover; something that all these films always incorporate somewhere into a scene.

The wolves were also perfect. I have always had a soft spot for Seth in the books (why, I have no idea!) and he was completely awesome, as was Leah. But I actually loved the whole wolf pack when I was reading so maybe I’m a bit biased!

When Bella becomes pregnant, the book is quite graphic with how she looks and this actually was the only part that disappointed me a little. There wasn’t much colour to her belly, which is carrying a blood-sucking demon… One that is sucking her blood. She just looked overly falsely pregnant and I didn’t really believe it as much as I probably should have. It might just be me, I don’t know.

Other than that, the story stuck completely to the book (from what I remember of it; I did read it a few years ago now!) and I found this film completely tolerable because of it. It didn’t really leave me, wanting to see the next one straight away, but I am looking forward to the last film of this series and I think Breaking Dawn Part 1 was the best version of the book so far.

Have you seen Breaking Dawn yet? What did you guys think?

Leave a Reply

