Glossy Box January 2012: Valentine’s Edition

This month’s Glossy Box arrived a little later than usual this month, what with Christmas and all other goings-on. I didn’t mind because this gave them an excuse to tie the theme with Valentine’s Day and pampering oneself for the ‘special day’. I don’t really agree with Valentine’s Day as a concept. I think it’s a waste of time and (more importantly) money. But I wouldn’t say no to a bunch of roses and box of chocolates. I am a woman after all. In fact, I think I wrote a post on Valentine’s day last year… I did here!

I have decided to write my Glossy Box posts a bit differently from now on, so I hope you like the new format 🙂 Our box for this month was bright pink. Glossy Box is spoiling us with the range of colours with the bold red Christmas box and now this pretty in pink Valentine’s box. These are a lot more eye catching than the dull baby pink boxes we have received previously and I think it makes the company appear more young and fresh.20120210-110358.jpg

What did I get in my Glossy Box to depict such a pampering occasion? To ensure I looked amazing on our inevitable date night? – I should make an effort; well, it is Valentine’s Day…

1. Eyeko Skinny Eyeliner20120210-110530.jpg

What Glossy Box says about it: Get a handle on your eyeliner for precise definition and intense colour with a long-lasting finish.
What Franno thinks about it: I got my eyeliner in Emerald Green, which I was a little apprehensive about. Does green eyeliner suit blue eyes? And it’s not a dull green either; emerald green. This is how it swatches: 20120210-110517.jpgI tried it on anyways, to see how the product felt and regardless of the colour, if I would purchase this product again in a different one. I’ve been trying to take photos of my eyes with this eyeliner, but the light’s not been right. I would say the eyeliner is easy to apply (well, duh, it’s pencil eyeliner…) and doesn’t seem to move when it has been applied, which is a bonus and what is looked for in an eyeliner. The colour when applied actually didn’t look too bad with my blue eyes and the swatch actually appeared a lot brighter than it looked on my eyes. I’m sure that, when used with eyeshadow (which I didn’t for reviewing purposes), it’ll look completely fine when blended in.

2. Clarins Extra Firming Night Cream20120210-110507.jpg

What Glossy Box says about it: Clarins intensive night-time skin renewal complex.
What Franno thinks about it: I already use a night time treatment from The Body Shop’s Seaweed treatment and I have been reaping the benefits of lovely smooth skin in the morning, so I’m not particularly looking at changing this. The most intriguing part of this for me was the ‘extra firming’ bit. I don’t think I’ve ever used a lotion or potion for ‘firming’ and I wanted to know what it felt like. I tried it for a couple of nights and I preferred this texture to what I’m actually using as my night time treatment at the moment. I might swap over. After a couple of nights, I can’t say that I noticed ‘firmness’ in my face, but you never know – after a few months, it might make a difference to my saggy cheeks.

3. Clarins Extra Firming Day Cream – sorry the picture is the wrong way… I’m having a bad technology week, this week that even rotating pictures is proving to be difficult…

20120210-110453.jpg

What Glossy Box says about it: Infusing skin with firming benefits that are immediate and long-lasting.
What Franno thinks about it: Again, I wanted to try this for the ‘firming’ effect and see what actually happened and, after my success with the night time treatment, I had high hopes for this one. Again, I didn’t particularly need a day cream, but it’s Clarins and that’s a reputable brand, so why not give it a go – I might like it. The consistency is quite thick and I was worried it would take some time to sink into my skin, but I was pleasantly surprised. My skin felt moisturised straight away but again, after a couple of uses, I couldn’t really feel ‘firmed up’ – I’m sure this would be different if I used this product more.

4. Fab Gentle Body Wash20120210-110435.jpg

What Glossy Box says about it: The ultimate travel companion for all skin types that provides irritant-free cleansing and hydration.
What Franno thinks about it: To be honest, I didn’t really want to try this one out because it’s the perfect size for when I go on holiday this year! And upon inspection, I realised this product wasn’t a body wash at all, but a ‘daily treatment body moisturiser!’ It’s fragrance free and seems awesome so I’ll be using this for holiday when I’m getting a tan and looking to keep it forever and ever! 🙂

5. Murad Hybrids Skin Perfecting Primer – dewy finish 20120210-110424.jpg

What Glossy Box says about it: Oil-free primer ignites a radiant glow, powered by light enhancing minerals

20120210-110411.jpg

What Franno thinks about it: I think this was a bit of a cop out from Glossy Box. In the last box, I was also sent a primer by MeMeMe, which I am using successfully at the moment. Nevertheless, I thought I’d give it a go, both with and without make up, to see if they had any different effect on my skin. I have never tried a skin-coloured primer before and I was a bit apprehensive about trying this. But, when I applied it to my hand, I was quite impressed with how easily this product blends with your natural skin colour, and I can’t wait to try it under my make up to see if it makes any difference there. It does have a dewy finish on my hand, which is great if you are keeping in with the natural look – I generally am, unless I’m going out-out.


I wouldn’t say this was the most romantic of boxes. Firming cream? Really? But I am pretty chuffed with this month’s box. All of the brands I have at least heard of, which is more than what has been in previous boxes, which I am loving. I am still a subscriber and haven’t been swayed by the welcome of new beauty boxes on the scene, as I think Glossy Box is one of the best out there for good range of products and brand names.I still have to write about what Jay got in his Glossy Box for Men – it’s in my drafts, I’ve just not had the time to take the photos and stuffs! Soz peeps. At this rate, I’ll be writing about his March Glossy Box for Men instead!

What did you receive in your Glossy Box this month? Did you enjoy your products? What did you get in any of the other beauty boxes you may have subscribed to?

Leave a Reply

