GlossyBox: February 2012

I’m going to apologise for the format of this post now – I don’t know what’s happened, but it’s all gone wrong again, because WordPress isn’t playing nice!!! Sorry!!

It doesn’t seem at all that long ago that I was writing my January/February Valentine’s inspired Glossy Box, but hooray for February being such a short month! I had a bit of a battle to rescue this month’s Glossy Box from the clutches of the evil mail-sorting office. I say ‘battle’, but I actually lost my collection ticket!

20120301-125929.jpg

So here it is, in all its glory. A dull pink Glossy Box; such a change from the vibrant red at Christmas and pink for last month’s box. This month was inspired by London Fashion Week with ‘products to make you look awesome with a quick fix’. We’ll see about that!

1. DuWop Venom Gloss

20120301-130044.jpg

What Glossy Box says about it: Combining subtle tinted lip gloss with Du Wop’s Lip Venom to create Venom Gloss. Please note the Lip Venom may cause a light tingling sensation upon application
What Franno thinks about it: Firstly, before writing what I think about it, I think a definition of what is Lip Venom, is in order! Directly from their website:
Lip Venom was the very first lip plumper on the market, creating the lip plumping category for the beauty industry. The tingly gloss uses essential oils to enhance lips’ natural color and shape by increasing circulation. The result: fuller bee stung lips.The secret behind Lip Venom is a blend of essential oils, which include cinnamon, wintergreen, and ginger, that cause the blood to rush to the surface of the lips, flushing and swelling them slightly. The gloss also includes jojoba and avocado oil that moisturize and give the lips intense shine. You end up with a shiny, naturally rosy pout that cannot be achieved by wearing ordinary lip gloss.
Hence the tingling sensation that Glossy Box warns us about. I had received my shade in Buttercup I have to say, I didn’t mind it too much. The gloss was extremely shiny and lasted a fair old while. My lips don’t really need too much plumping, but my Mum gave it a whirl on her lips and she could see a complete difference, and I could see a difference on my top lip. This was the only product this month with a discount and I will definitely buy another one with my discount code 🙂
2. Dr Bronner Magic Liquid Soap
20120301-125939.jpg
What Glossy Box says about it: A combination of organic extra virgin coconut, olive, jojoba and hemp oils, together with pure essential oils.
What Franno thinks about it: I am still trying to find out what this product does, as the label states that it has 18 uses… refers to Google… still looking… Whilst I’m trying to actually find out, it smells very orangey, but not so in your face orangey and watery. I had to refer to the Glossy Box website to actually read what this product can be used for and this is what I found:
For everyday body-washing: Get wet and pour soap full-strength onto hands-washcloth-loofah. Lather up, scrub down, rinse off, and tingle fresh & clean.

For other uses, dilute from one part soap into 40 parts water for light cleaning, to cutting it in half or using it full strength for heavy-duty grease-cutting jobs.

For shampoo, though we now recommend our new Shikakai soaps for this, many people are fond of using it as such. The method of application is to wet hair and scalp very thoroughly, squirt some soap into hands and work into a lather. Wash hair, then rinse well. Afterwards use our new citrus hair rinse and leave-in conditioners as directed.

For the laundry, use 1/4 cup to 1/3 cup for one regular load; adjust as needed depending on hardness of water. I’ve been told that adding a dash of baking soda makes it even better.

For toothbrushing, apply a drop or two of Dr. Bronner’s Magic Soap to a wet toothbrush. Brush as you normally would, rinsing accordingly. Be careful about using more than a couple drops of soap, as you might start foaming at the mouth. Many people with sensitive or softer teeth like to use our soap as a toothpaste because it lacks abrasives.

So it can be used for most things then!! I’d probably use it for body washing and shampooing, although I’m not 100% sure on using the same products for different things, as I find the quality of all these different uses sort of diminish…
3. Paul Mitchell Round Trip
20120301-125950.jpg
What Glossy Box says about it: This liquid curl definer is fast-drying for enhanced curls in an instant.
What Franno thinks about it: I have wavy hair and when my hair was longer, I used to use curl definers for different looks. However, now I have short hair. And I’m not looking to curl define my hair at the moment. I might use it when I’m on holiday as it’s in a useful handy size, but for now, it’s not really useful to me. Soz, Glossy Box.

 


4
. BM Beauty Pure Mineral Eyeshadow

20120301-130003.jpg

What Glossy Box says about it: Award winning pure mineral eyeshadow. Cruelty free and suitable for vegetarians and vegans.

20120301-130015.jpg

What Franno thinks about it: I haven’t tried mineral eyeshadows before, so this was my first one. And I have to say, I’m a little surprised. I got my BM Beauty eyeshadow in the shade Platinum Tiara, which is a lovely glittery grey. With the colour being so versatile, just like the eyeshadow itself, I am able to make intense colour or eyeliner by adding water, or a lovely subtle look by leaving the eyeshadow on its own. This was definitely a winner for me.
5. Como Shambhala Invigorate Body Lotion
20120301-130024.jpg
What Glossy Box says about it: A revitalising blend of essential oils that put you in a perfectly uplifted mood

20120301-130036.jpg

What Franno thinks about it: Lastly, Glossy Box brings us another body lotion to try out. I am not too keen on the smell of this one; it reminds me of old people – I think it’s the lavender, but I’m not 100%. However, I am going on sun beds a lot, so I do need some more moisturising body lotions to ensure my tan stays where it’s meant to.


So that’s that for another month – another mixed bag with products I would definitely buy again and others that I will give a miss if I ever pass them in a shop. Did you get a different Glossy Box from mine and how would you rate it?
Glossy Box is teaming up with Harrods for their March box, so if you haven’t subscribed already, make sure you do so you don’t miss out on some really luxurious products!

 

Leave a Reply

