Top Shop Nail Varnish

I love nail varnish. Seriously, I have a drawer dedicated to the stuff. The majority of my nail varnishes are Barry M because I think they’re cheap and cheerful and do what they are meant to do well. But, when we were out shopping on Saturday, Jay was buying things and I wasn’t. So we went into Top Shop so I could pick up some leggings and I impulsively bought some nail varnish when I was in the queue.

Metallic nail varnish is still fashionable and I think, for someone who lives in black clothing, it makes a really nice change from bright pink or bright blue, which I usually fashion. It’ll be interesting to see how it reacts in the swimming pool, but it’s the beginning of the week, so I don’t have to find out until… well, this evening when I do my mile swim!

20120312-150038.jpgI picked up “Heart of Gold” #106, as it looked quite pale for a golden nail varnish and other metallic nail varnishes look too yellow. Franno don’t do yellow, because it washes out my skin tone completely. I have to say I was really surprised with this nail varnish. Usually shops that branch into something slightly different than what they’re good at do a really rubbish job of product number 2, but the nail varnish was thick, creamy and I only needed one coat on all my nails for a full coverage. The brush was quite broad, which I don’t mind as I have broad fingernails, but would be annoying for those skinny nailed ladies out there. And the formula was also quick drying, so I didn’t have to wait around for too long.

I loved that this nail varnish was not massively reflective; I have the silver Foil Effects from Barry M, and I’m just not quite getting on with it yet! I will definitely be buying some more of Top Shop nail varnishes from now on to extend my collection, maybe I’ll have to get some pastel colours next…

20120312-150030.jpg

Have you tried Top Shop nail varnishes yet? Which should be my next purchase??

4 thoughts on “Top Shop Nail Varnish

  1. I haven’t tried any of the Topshop polishes yet either, but you’ve definitely convinced me to try some! I’ve had my eye on a really pretty turquoise…!

    1. I really and truly recommend them – I definitely need some more of them in my collection. Turquoise seems to be the ‘in’ trend at the moment, so give it a go – you won’t be disappointed 🙂 x

      1. I love the huge range of colours that they’ve got so I’m super excited that they’re good quality too! Turquoise is one of my very favourite colours – second only to purple! – so I’ll probably be buying all of the shades. Maybe I’ll try ombré nails!
        Thanks lady 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

