Pear Shape Vs. Coloured Jeans

20120312-112534.jpg

Hello, my name is Franno and I admit that I have a pear shaped body. I don’t think I’m alone when I say that I hate my body type. I would much prefer to have a boyish, petite figure, but hey, you get what you’re given and I’m trying to work with it. I also admit that I don’t really have much fashion sense, but I think that’s actually changing. Since I’ve been getting far too girly on my blog (and reading other girly blogs too), I feel like I’m somehow getting a sense as to what suits my body type, what goes together and what doesn’t. I’m actually seeing what is on trend right now and I have to say, I’m liking it. Which is a first.

I currently inhabit black leggings. I don’t know, I’ve lived in black leggings for about two years now. I think I’m subconsciously ashamed of my thighs and black is so slimming and, well, leggings go with most things, so I just stick to what I know. But now I’m actually getting skinnier, I want to go back to jeans. In fact, I want to not go back, but go forward and jump into some coloured jeans.

Coloured jeans are absolutely everywhere, but I am so worried they won’t suit my body shape that I’m steering clear. I mean, there’s a jean cut for everyone, right? But I think I’m just nervous because I haven’t really worn jeans in so long that I’ve forgotten everything about them! Ha. Ridiculous, eh?

So I go to google and type in ‘jeans for pear shapes’ and this website pops up, giving me clear instruction as to what kind of jeans I want. What I’ve learnt so far:

  1. No light, paler or ‘washed look’ jeans. Goodbye, fabulous pastel peachy colour in my mind…
  2. Bootcuts, hipster jeans and low rise jeans are the best for pears, to make your arse look smaller. Awesome. Steer clear from wide leg.
  3. No pockets on the back to emphasise the arse.

Excellent. So far, so good. NEXT!! So off I popped onto the Debenhams website and searched the term, ‘coloured jeans’. This is what they found. Lots of fabulous colours for me to choose from. Now where do I start? In fact, looking at the website made me a bit giddy, so I decided to wait for my next shopping trip to see what I can find and what actually suits me. Luckily, it wasn’t too far away…

Okay, I have to admit, I did shy away from the coloured jeans on Saturday. It didn’t help that we were in such a rush but I am so worried it won’t suit my shape at all. So I’m calling on all pear shaped ladies to tell me if you’ve had any such luck with coloured jeans, what colours, what length and style flatter our voluptuous curves. I am a size 12 on top and 14 on bottom, with a bit of a belly. That’s not me in the above picture. HELP?!?!?

4 thoughts on “Pear Shape Vs. Coloured Jeans

  1. I actually just bought coloured jeans this weekend – a pair in bright blue and a pair in deep red. I usually wear bootcut (dark) jeans, in the hopes that the flair at the ankle will balance out the *ahem* “flair* at the arse. So I’ve been afraid of buying skinny jeans, even though I’ve been keen to show off the cute new shoes that I’ve bought.

    Franno – I love them. At least three people complemented me on the blue ones yesterday. I think as long as you wear them with the right top you’ll be ace anyway – I wore mine with a slightly longer flowy (flowing? flowingly? gah!) t-shirt so the bum was mostly covered anyway.

    It is so exciting to have something not just new as in “just purchased” but new as in “like nothing else you own” in your wardrobe.

    I bought mine at New Look for something like £22. Highly recommend.

    1. Thanks soooo much for this, Cap’n. I think I’m going to have to bite the bullet and get a pair. I really want some bright pink or purple ones, or even a pastel-y pair… But I am SO afraid.

      I’ll have a look at the New Look site and see what they’ve got on there. At £22, you can’t really go wrong, can you? Unless it’s the wrong colour…

  2. I tried last weekend the green ones that Cheryl Cole was using early this month (you can google Cheryl Cole’s green jeans to see them). I’m a size 12 pear shaped woman (36″-30″-38″) they look much better than the coral ones I initially liked. So I will go for the green ones 🙂

    1. Thanks for your comment, Lily 🙂 Green tends to make me look like a leprechaun (!) but I’ll try them out and see how I get on. I think darker colours are probably the way to go when it comes to jeans and pear shapes! x

Leave a Reply

