Song Of The Week: Reel Big Fish

I don’t know if you’ve noticed that since I’ve been doing songs of the week or whatever, they’ve all been quite old songs. It’s almost like I’m rediscovering all these golden oldies that I’d completely forgotten about. This week is no different.

When I was about 13 until I was about 17, I used to love watching Kerrang! music channel. It wasn’t massively heavy then; it was more Sum 41, Blink 182, Bowling For Soup and Alien Ant Farm than all the scary German stuff you’ll see on Scuzz nowadays! Kerrang! helped me find Reel Big Fish who are an amazing pop-ska band, almost comedic in their songs, with songs like “She’s Got A Girlfriend Now” and “Ban The Tube Top”, and doing awesome covers of ‘Take On Me” by Aha and “New York, New York”. Just freakin’ awesome. I bought their album, Cheer Up! as soon as I got addicted to seeing “Where Have You Been” on Kerrang! all the time. I swear I wore the album out with it on repeat for a complete summer, at full volume. It doesn’t remind me of anything in particular, but just a real song you can dance to 🙂 I’ve since downloaded their greatest hits, which has plastered a massive smile on my face whenever it’s in the background of my life.

So ladies and gents, I bring to you. “Where Have You Been” by Reel Big Fish. Happy Thursday, hope you enjoy 🙂

Leave a Reply

