Bourjois Healthy Mix Gel Serum

20120624-131550.jpg

From the depths of YouTube, I have heard tonnes and tonnes about this foundation. And you know what I’m like… Off I trotted to my work’s local Superdrug and picked up both the gel serum foundation and the ‘normal’ liquid foundation in shade 52.

I have never used a gel ‘serum’ foundation before, so I don’t have anything to compare this to, I’m afraid. It smells loooovely of strawberries and girly smelling things 🙂 Bourjois say that the foundation is designed to  ‘erase imperfections, smooth signs of fatigue and encourage radiant looking skin for  up to 16 hours’. Sounds good, eh?

It’s consistency is slightly runny (not like water, but a little bit gloopier than what I’m used to with my liquid foundation) and I used my Real Techniques buffing brush to ‘buff’ into my face. Here’s what it turned out like, applied over my new favourite primer, The POREfessional by Benefit:

20120624-131556.jpg
cue: scary base-only picture!

I applied all over my face, including eyelids and under the eyes and I did not use a concealer, so I could see how true the Bourjois claims were. As you can see, the foundation is a very light coverage, but it was definitely buildable on the areas that I needed it the most (around my cheeks and nose, as well as under my eyes). It’s dewy and I like it; I never usually have dewy foundation, as I worry that I look really oily, but this didn’t have that effect. I used about five or six pumps to cover the whole of my face. Here’s the finished result with a full face on:

20120624-131602.jpg
face: The POREfessional, Bourjois Healthy Mix Gel Serum, NARS contour kit
eyes: The Body Shop liquid eyeliner in black, Barry M Lash Modelling mascara
lips: Bourjois 3D Effect lipgloss (can’t find the number…)

I think, for a summer foundation, the Bourjois Healthy Mix Gel Serum Foundation (try saying that ten times fast!) is a good way to go when you don’t want a massively heavy coverage, but still want to look made up. It lasted all the way through my shift and I reapplied when I was off to go and watch the football. Good staying power, nice and cheap. Generally awesome. Hope the normal liquid foundation has the same kind of hype 🙂

Bourjois Healthy Mix Serum Foundation is available at Boots or Superdrug for £10.99. 

2 thoughts on “Bourjois Healthy Mix Gel Serum

Leave a Reply

