Maybelline Dream Fresh BB Cream

I’m baaaaack!! Sorry about my absence – what I thought was a ‘cold’ in my last post actually turned out to be sinusitis and I’ve been sitting in a dark room, whilst my face has been throbbing due to the pressure. Seriously, it wasn’t very nice! If you follow me on Twitter, you would’ve seen many moany sick tweets. Sorry 😦

ANYWAYS. I’m back and I have a bit of a review for you! Summer is finally here (not that I’m jinxing it or anything…) and it’s time to look for summery products! BB cream is still a massive fad, with it’s light coverage ‘foundation’ qualities alongside its skincare and protection charmers. Do you remember my trying out of the Garnier one? Read here to find out what I thought and the differences between BB creams and tinted moisturiser – there’s loads!

I wasn’t very successful with the Garnier one. I think it’s down to it being a free sample and therefore not the right shade for my skin and the fact it was in a sachet and I was fumbling to get the product out properly! So I decided to check out a high street brand (and thus, a bit cheaper) to see how I got on. Hello, Maybelline counter at my local Boots.

20120723-114221.jpg
Maybelline Dream Fresh BB Cream – £7.99 from Boots

The Maybelline BB cream is gel based – I’m loving gel based products at the moment! – and claims to have an 8 uses in one cream, to create an instant fresh-faced glow without make up. These eight factors are:

  1. Creates natural glow
  2. Compliments skin tone
  3. SPF30 UV protection
  4. Hydrates all day
  5. Blurs imperfections
  6. Oil-free, non-greasy
  7. Looks visibly smooth
  8. Feels fresh

20120723-114226.jpgFor my review, I decided to cleanse and tone, skipping on the moisturiser, so I can see how well the product fairs without gripping onto another product for help. You know me; I’m a hard examiner!

The packaging is pretty standard for a cream. It looks like a moisturiser and it’s easy to get the product out of the tube, without getting too much of the product out of the tube. Still with me?! I applied the cream (in the shade ‘medium’) with my fingers, but I know some bloggers that have used a brush and buffed it into the skin.

20120723-114230.jpg
Sexy face… First application of Maybelline Dream Fresh BB cream with wet hair… Yummy!

On first application, I noticed my pores were crazily visible, so next time, I will use my The POREfessional primer underneath, just so I feel a little more covered up. It’s a very light coverage, which it is meant to be, but it did cover up a blood spot I have on my face right now so I would say it is buildable to a light coverage so don’t use it if you want the fully made up look.

In terms of lasting power, the Maybelline Dream Fresh BB cream did need some touching up on said blood spot, but to be honest, I should’ve put concealer on that bad boy anyway! My skin looked very fresh and un-oily all day (I’m going through an oily phase at the moment, so this was key to me!).

Would I use this again? For holiday, yes. For days when I am teaching swimming lessons, yes. For every other I-am-wearing-make-up day, no. I think, for me, it doesn’t have quite enough coverage, so I would use this under a foundation as a moisturiser (with all its benefits to the skin) before my primer, just for that added protection and knowing my skin is feeling awesome all day.

Have you tried Maybelline’s Dream Fresh BB Cream or any foundation on the Dream Fresh range?

Aaaah, it’s good to be back 🙂

Leave a Reply

