WLB and the OMG! Diet

I’m back from sunny Spain! Well, as I write this draft, it’s actually a cloudy day in sunny Spain, whilst its the hottest day in the UK – and it’s also V festival weekend; the first one I’ve missed in 10 years! Sad 😦

I’m planning on publishing this post on bank holiday Monday, a couple of days after returning home and sharing with you all exactly how much I’ve put on in 2 weeks. Like ripping the bandaid off…

So I left England weighing 174.3lbs and today, I weigh 173.7lbs! What on earth?! Amazing to have lost weight on holiday!! YAY ME!

I’m publishing this on Monday, as I’m starting the OMG! 6 weeks diet this week, and you’ve got to start these things at the beginning of the week, right?

The OMG! diet is now one of the best selling books of 2012 and claims to reprogramme the way we think about food, by explaining all the nooks and crannies regarding each section. I read the whole thing within the first week of being on holiday, but it wasn’t necessarily something I’d implement whilst being away, as it appears you need to be extremely disciplined. The diet can help you lose up to 20lbs in six weeks! Wowzer!

There are three levels of difficulty and whichever you choose depends on how much you want to lose. I’m generally mixing between levels 1 and 2 because I doubt I have the willpower to reduce my carbs as much as level 3 wants me to!

The author does come up with some weird suggestions in order to achieve your perfect bod; baths at 20degrees Celsius, anyone? Or blowing up balloons to exercise your core muscles? No breakfast to burn off the remaining calories in your system from the night before? Moving (not exercising), waiting and THEN, eating to replicate our ancestors, hunting for food?

I am a real believer of  “don’t knock it until you’ve tried it” and, although I’m dreading the baths and I’m replacing the recommended two morning cups of coffee with caffeine capsules, I’m willing to give it a good go. Even if it’s just for one week out of six… Maybe that’s why I’ve managed to lose a little bit of weight, because this book has opened my eyes as to how to diet in terms of when to eat what.

This week, I’m also planning on starting on my Insanity workout, but I don’t want to do too much, so I can judge the exercise programme. Maybe I’ll use the Insanity programme as my ‘movement’ routine for the diet. We’ll see how it goes 🙂

How did you do with your weigh in this week?

Leave a Reply

