Oh. Hello, Blog! And Summer hair!

Hello long lost Interwebz friends. My word, it has been such a long time! There is really no excuse. Work has been a bit hectic of late and I seem to be running through my life in a sequence of work, working out and sleeping! I have really missed writing and so, I hope that I’m never kept away from you for a long time ever again! 🙂

The irony is not wasted on me at the fact that one of my last posts was about the shitty British weather we had been having, and now we’ve suffered a massive heatwave, including the hottest day since Summer 2006. I don’t even remember Summer ’06, but it must’ve been a belter! And now, today, when I’m actually posting this, it’s pissing it down with rain again…

Anyways, I’m back in full swing and I can’t wait to get back into my bloggy geekiness and share that with you all!

Today, I’m going to start with my epic hair journey! I have changed my hair YET again! This year has been mostly about my being in the swimming pool for anywhere between 3 and 10 hours a week. With our swimming lessons winding down, I decided that I really wanted a change as soon as I was out of the pool, so I actually didn’t cut or colour my hair for 12 weeks! I think that’s the longest I’ve ever not cut my hair and I could really tell with the disintegration of the ends of my hair along with the strawlike texture of the highlights that I’d put in, with the scent of eau de chlorine. *shivers*

So after finishing my teaching on Thursday, I popped to my hairdressers on Friday. And this is a photographic account of what happened…

20130729-163616.jpg

So here’s the before, during, during and after. As you can see in the first picture, my roots were awful! I loved retrieving my normal hair colour after such a long time! I hadn’t seen those roots in about six years or so!  So step one was pour peroxide all over my hair and scalp. Surprisingly, this didn’t hurt as much as it did when I was blonde before – I still suffer with eczema, but not half as much as I used to, and after all, beauty is pain, right? – and then my hairdresser chucked on the purple afterwards. A small trim around my luscious locks and we’re at the finished look. Look how amazing it looks when it’s instagrammed!

20130729-163640.jpgYes, I still selfie with my unassuming dog.

I am absolutely loving this colour! Last night, however, I had to perform my first wash and it has started to fade already! I’m hoping that, if I just wash it twice a week until my next appointment in three weeks, I’ll be okay… Plus, the next time we put colour on it, it’ll attach to the molecules much better and last a lot longer. I experienced that with my bright red hair anyway. I really want to keep this hair forever and ever!

What changes have you made for this summer? Do you have any shampoos and conditioners to recommend for my colour to last for longer?

Leave a Reply

