WLB – The Restart

I know I’ve not written about my weight since end of May, so I thought I’d give you an update and, of course, weigh in today (on Weigh In Wednesday) and show you how I’ve been getting on.

Generally, my diet has been okay. I’m still not sacrificing those foods that I love, but I am trying to watch what I eat as much as possible. I have now restarted the 5:2 diet after a few weeks off but I’ve found that, for me, it’s the most effective way for me to lose weight. I am using My Fitness Pal more than ever to record everything that I’m eating and drinking and whenever I’m being active. It’s a hugely useful tool for me; I’ve always got my phone on me and the ease of scanning barcodes of foods makes it quick and I don’t even have to think about logging foods. You, of course, can find me on My Fitness Pal – just search users and type in frannooooo and you’ll see my ugly mug! I’ve joined the Summer Slim Down Challenge and I’m part of the purple team. I don’t know if this is motivating me as much as I thought it would, and I just seem to be letting the side down more! But it’s good to have other people who are also looking to lose weight and we’re kinda inspiring each other from across the globe.

I am still using my FitBit and trying to walk 10K steps a day. Again, I’ve found the automatic syncing to my iPhone and to MFP have been really useful. I started Boot Camp a couple of weeks ago and, although I’m not training this week as I can’t fit it in (bloody wedding season!), it’s something I would definitely recommend. I always need to be told what to do so that I don’t cheat. If I wasn’t told to do something and someone wasn’t there watching me, I know I wouldn’t achieve my goal. And I obviously have been teaching a lot over the past ten weeks, either for my own lessons or for other teachers’ lessons!

Okay, so if we look at how I’ve been doing since my last WLB post until yesterday (Tuesday)…

weight loss

I’ve lost quite a substantial amount through the time I’ve not really been blogging! I’ve pushed through my half a stone and I’m well on my way to becoming a skinny minnie! My current aim is to lose 2lbs per week up until I’m at my ideal weight, which works out at 9 and a half weeks to get to where I want to be. However, there are some events in my life that are coming up where I know it probably won’t work like that!

For example, this weekend, I have a wedding to attend, as well as meeting up with the outlaws.

Next weekend, I have a long lost uni friend staying over.

The following weekend is my annual pilgrimage to V Festival in Chelmsford.

And then the weekend after that it’s bank holiday! Man, I love August, but my waistline doesn’t.

I think that, as long as I stick to the 5:2 diet and don’t go mad on my non-500 calorie days, I should be okay. I’ve just got to make sure that I track all over the place to keep in with my goal. This morning, I’ve weighed in before work and…

Today, I weigh 0.4lbs heavier than I did yesterday. That’s okay though. I did pig out a little bit. But now I’m on it like Sonic! Today is another non-500 cal day, but tomorrow, I’m back on it again. I’m not going mad with my calorie intake, but eating when I am hungry and staying within My Fitness Pal calorie goals.

How have you been doing with your weight loss? How much have you lost so far this year? What are your goals?

Leave a Reply

