As one door closes…

So here I am, on the brink of unemployment. It’s officially less than two weeks (ten days, to be exact) until I finish my notice period. And do I have anything lined up? Do I bollocks. 

Actually, that’s a little bit of a lie.

Last week, I had another interview for Brighton Water Babies. I didn’t get the job, but it’s helped me focus more on where I want to be and what I want to do, so anything helps. To get a clearer picture of where I want to be is extremely useful, particularly as my CV just says “swimming teacher” over and over again.

Today, I have a second interview at an outsourcing marketing company. My Masters degree is in marketing, so it’s about time I did something with it. I have flirted with marketing in my role at Water Babies, but it’s time for something more marketing-centred. To be honest, it sounds a bit too good to be true so I’m going in with a pinch of salt. It’s a new branch, local to me, and they train you on the job to become a marketing expert. I don’t know, we’ll just wait and see. 

There are other opportunities that have come up with regards to running baby activity franchises. I know the baby target market inside out, so it makes sense to utilise that and what better way of doing that then to run my own baby business? I’m still awaiting all the details, but I’ve shown interest and hopefully, when they meet me, they’ll love me and sell their branch to me. There is one branch for sale so we’ll see what they think.

Other than that, my diary is pretty vacant. In fact, it just says “Look for job 9 – 5” for most entries, with the exception of V festival weekend. 

It’s really scary to not have a job lined up, but I always have my toe in other companies, the casual work at a local sports centre and where I used to manage years and years ago. At the same time, it’s really exciting. I’m hoping that more opportunities come up that might grab my interest. I have sent my CV to all of the recruitment agencies local to me and in London. We’ll see. 

Leave a Reply

