Day Two Of Being A Bum (I’m Bored Already)

It’s Tuesday of my first week of unemployment. And. I. Am. BORED.

Yesterday, I started tidying my house and getting rid of things that I no longer need. I’m becoming increasingly aware that I’m actually not earning any money so I’ve sold stuff that I don’t need (i.e. a sideboard that Jay owned but couldn’t be bothered to take with him). When my notice period finally ended, I decided that I was going to take this month off to take a break. But yesterday, I got so bored, I even started applying for jobs. Temp ones, such as dog walkers, that I could keep to for a couple of hours a day, just to get me out of the house. I honestly think that, if I last two weeks of unemployment, that’d be a bonus.

Today, I woke up naturally at 5am. It’s 7:30am as I write this (although it won’t be published ’til later so I’ll have that to look forward to – you know, break my day up a bit!) and I have already done the washing, cleaned the kitchen (the second time in two days – I can probably eat off the floor now) and called Sky TV, who told me to call back at 8:30am. It’s too early, even for technical teams. 

Because of the awareness that I’m not earning anything, I’ve boycotted going anywhere that I don’t need to, to make sure I don’t spend any money on petrol. This is the kind of person I’ve become in the one day that I’ve not been working. And I hate it. I want to be earning money and going wherever the hell I want, quite frankly. I’m probably just worrying too much. In fact, I know I am. 

For the rest of the day, I don’t have anything planned. Just more tidying, more selling stuff. I actually have to post an eBay item that I totally forgot about a couple of weeks ago! Negative feedback, coming my way… Maybe I’ll sell more stuff on there as well, to earn a little bit more than I had. I have so many clothes (and the ones that Jay hid from me while we were together) that don’t fit me anymore and, even if I earned £10 from all of them, that’s something more than I already had. I just have to remember to send them.

Things to look forward to? Next week, basically. Meeting with the potential franchise that I’m buying, pay day (although the last one from Water Babies, but something that means I can stop being so stringent on life) and V Festival (my one weekend where I just let go). It’s like Christmas in August. Other than that, my diary is pretty vacant. I’m putting more energy into my Herbalife business, which is something but I need more orders if this is the only thing to support me for a while. 

I have to say, I thought I’d be more relaxed after finishing work and spending time at home, but I guess I just love working. Having worked solidly since I was 16 for 11 years, I think that this whole concept of having nothing to get up for is really difficult for me. I honestly don’t know how people have done it for longer than I have!

Leave a Reply

