SheSaid Beauty Box: August Edition

Hey guys!

So, after reviewing my Glossy Box and deciding to cancel said-box, I feel it only right to review a brand new beauty box that I have subscribed to. The SheSaid beauty box.

Shesaidbeauty.com allows for you to join a social network that keeps all beauty stuff in one place. It offers you the latest in beauty blogs, beauty videos and beauty reviews, allowing you to create your own profile for others to join and see what floats your boat. I love this idea as a concept; I think I take too long bouncing around the Internet, looking for new things to try whereas this website brings it straight to my attention. All beauty addicts need to join! I created my profile, which is linked to my blog, so if people stumble upon my page, they get to see what I’m writing about. If you’ve joined, you’ll find me as frannooooo.

When joining the community, I had to answer a series of questions like, what kind of skin I have and if I dye my hair. Glossy Box did this when I first subscribed there, but I’m hoping that SheSaidBeauty uses this more to their advantage when they come to identifying products for your beauty box! The beauty box itself is a whole pound cheaper than the Glossy Box, and it allows you to bulk-buy for more savings! I bulk bought for three months, to give it a fair ol’ trial. In comparison with Glossy Box, the SheSaidBeauty website enables you to give your personal opinion, rather than rating out of 5 stars or whatever it is they do. When you review, you earn points to receive a free beauty box; again, similar to the Glossy Box rating.

20120831-122132.jpg

20120831-122137.jpgThe box is brightly coloured and arrived on my doorstep with hot pink packaging, unveiling a pastel green box inside. There is no theme to the box, but rather stuff that you’d probably want to try anyway! There is a card explaining what it is that you have received and I have noticed there’s a tonne more detail in what they write than what was written in the Glossy Box’s one sentenced explanation. So, what did I get?

20120831-122142.jpg1. White Glo Professional Choice

What the blurb says: Professional Choise – Australia’s No. 1 Whitening toothpaste. The original formula has been designed to gently lift stains and discolouration from teeth using micro-polishing particles

What Franno says: I’m pretty chuffed with receiving a toothpaste in a beauty box. I am really self conscious about my teeth and I’m always looking for new products to add some shine to my pearly yellows… I’m feeling positive about it as well, as it’s the number 1 whitening toothpaste in Australia; have you ever seen an Australian with rubbish teeth!? I haven’t…!

20120831-122147.jpg2. Balance Me Rose Otto Intensive Lip Salve

What the blurb says: Discover the new, petroleum-free, 100% natural ultra-moisturising intensive lip salve. A daily beauty must-have for salve addicts to plump, protect and smooth away dry patches on lips and leave them kiss-ably soft.

What Franno says: Stuff for your lips is another beauty box fave, isn’t it? I have countless numbers of lip balms, lip plumpers, lip sticks from the Glossy Box! However, I do suffer from dry patches in my lips, so hopefully, I will find that this reduces that somewhat šŸ™‚ As is well documented on here, I don’t like the Rose smell, but if it helps my lips look better, I suppose I’ll have to get over that šŸ™‚

20120831-122152.jpg3. Redken Color Extend Radiant-10

What the blurb says: New Radiant-10 combines the richness of a nourishing lotion with the lightness of a spray to provide 10 essential benefits, in one easy and fast application.

What Franno says: I am really impressed that this is in the box! I have used Redken products before, so I know what to expect when it comes to this brand. I am in love with the Redken hairspray that a hairdresser gave me for free the other month, so I am really happy with this. This one has gone straight into my handbag.

20120831-122156.jpg4. Papier Poudre Rachel Powdered Paper

What the blurb says: The natural ingredients of Papier Poudre blotting paper have special absorbent qualities for cleansing the pores. Detach a leaf and gently press the smooth powdered side over your face to irradicate excess oils leaving a delicate trace of powder and an instant matte finish to make up.

What Franno says: I don’t really use powder on my make up to be honest, but I know a friend who did and they really saw benefits, so I’m keen to give this product a go. There’s a lot of weddings for me to attend this month, so maybe it’ll help my make up to stay in place and not look all greasy and stuff from strutting my stuff on the dancefloor!

20120831-122201.jpg5. Absolutely Flawless Nail Foils

What the blurb says: Suitable for finger nails and toe nails. These foils are easy to apply with zero drying time and no chipping. There are over 130 designs to choose from online.

What Franno says: I have received the Nail Rock nail foils in my Glossy Box before and I wasn’t overly thrilled by them, but I can completely see why they would be someone else’s cup of tea. The pros are they last for quite some time, are more exciting than normal nail varnished nails and the range of patterns is phenomenal. The cons are they are really tricky to put on; I know, when I tried the others out, that they ended up all bumpy because I wasn’t pulling the foil hard enough! But maybe this one will be different, who knows?!

20120831-122236.jpg6. 4711 Eau De Cologne

What the blurb says: 4711 Original Eau de Cologne is one of the Cologne’s oldest internationally famous brands. For more than 200 years, it has delivered on its promise: using this unique fragrance refreshes the mind, body and soul. The secret formula for 4711 Original Eau de Cologne is still appreciated across the globe today, making this ‘aqua mirabilis’ an unparalleled classic.

What Franno says: This is the cutest sample I have ever seen! It’s actually a mini tiny bottle, instead of one of those card with a spray inside! Too cute! For me, the scent is a little too masculine and it really reminds me of what ‘cologne’ smells like, if that makes sense!? I don’t know, I’m just really excitable about this box anyway, so we’ll skip past the bonus perfume sample!

Generally, I am super impressed at my beauty box from She Said Beauty, but I don’t know if that’s because I’m looking at it with fresh eyes after a couple of bad months with the other beauty box. I suppose only time will tell, but I know I’ll be using each and every one of the products in this box, more so than I would’ve used my Glossy Box samples, where most of them have ended up in a drawer! What is awesome as well is, as soon as I’ve tried these products properly, I can review them on my She Said Beauty profile so others can make a judgement on that product on what I have said. Amazing šŸ™‚

What do you think about beauty boxes? Have you tried She Said Beauty? Look me up; I’m Frannooooo. šŸ™‚

Leave a comment